Leave a comment

Top 100 Craft Beers 2011

So it is done and dusted for another year. The 2011 top 200 Craft beers have been released. It was one of the most exciting moments of my Australia Day, that and seeing a full Sammy D do stunts on his trampoline.

The top beer was one that I voted for and one of my favourite beers, Stone and Wood’s Pacific Ale. It was one of the best beers, fruity and sessionable.

Check out the whole list here.

The list includes perennial favourites such as Little Creatures Pale Ale at No. 2 and rising brewery, Feral Brewing’s Hop Hog. A beer I have heard a lot about but am still looking for a decent bottlo which stocks it.

A big congratulations is going to the guys at 4 Pines for having four beers inside the top 20. Their Kolsch bucked the trend of big IPA’s and high alcohol but it was a perfectly balanced example of the style, plus t at hey have made the only beer recognised and approved for space travel.   That beer came in at no. 20 which was about where I would have put it.

Last years winner, Vale Ale, dropped down to 7. I have no doubt that the critics and snobs will be happy with that… No  wait… I just read the comments and again there are people who are ready to whinge about a lack of big IPA’s in the American tradition and calling “Pacific Ale a very girly floral hopped wimpy beer. Dare i say for the homo-erotic late night sbs viewing crowd.” See the comment from Sudsley on the 9th of January

Now I don’t know about you but that is the sort of comment I expect from a lager mega swilling tool. I am sorry but only drinking the hoppiest beers you can find does not make you more of a man and it is that sort of talking that endangers the open thinking and tolerance that is what the craft beer revolution is all about.

Still I liked the list and over the next year I am hoping to get a bit more feral and discover more about Hargreaves Hill. I will keep you all posted. Feel free to comment on any other beers you thought should have the list or where I can find some Hargreaves Hill here in Adelaide.

Till next time beer loves, drink up.

Justin

Have a say

