1 Comment

Stone Smoked Porter

If Dogfish Head is a brewery for off centreStone Smoked Porterd people then Stone Brewery is a brewery for people who like something a little bit more extreme. I have written about the extreme marketing techniques used by Stone before especially regarding the Arrogant Bastard Ale but regardless of what you think about that, the beer itself is superb.

Today I address the last beer I need to tick off from Stone for the 1,001 beers, the Stone Smoked Porter.

The Stone Smoke is a 5.9% porter which has a component of peated malt that gave it a great smokey flavour which is perfect for a wintery Sunday night.  A smoked beer is not one where you usually get any hop flavours by Stone still manage it which I really liked rather then just a smokey malty sweet taste. Having said that you won’t confuse this with an ordinary porter. It makes me think of a good quality 65% dark chocolate. This is the sort of beer that I would like to enjoy with a (small) slice of rich cheesecake.

As aside note, my brother picked this up from the states last week. I think it is important to note that considering Stone’s co-founder, Greg Koch’s  strong opinions on grey imports, one I intend to agree with. 

One comment on “Stone Smoked Porter

  1. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this site
    needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

    Like

Have a say

